Travel Information

Kenya Currency

Currency: Kenyan Shilling (KSh) = 100 cents. Notes are in denominations of KSh1000, 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5. Coins are in denominations of KSh 40, 20, 10, 5, 1 and 50cts. There are no restrictions on the foreign exchange you may bring to the country. You will need to get a letter of authorisation if you wish to take more than Kshs. 500,000/- out of the country.

Currency exchange: Money can be exchanged at the major banks and the numerous Foreign exchange bureaus that can be found on literary every other street. There are also several of them at the airport. There are over 170 ATMs. Barclays has the largest network followed by Standard Chartered Bank. Most ATM's serve a majority of the international credit cards like Visa, Master etc.

Credit & debit cards: These are all widely accepted. Major hotels and big outlets now accept payment by credit card. Cards accepted include Visa, Master Card,

Travellers cheques: These can be changed at banks. To avoid additional exchange rate charges, travellers are advised to take travellers cheques in US Dollars or Pounds Sterling.

Banking hours: Mon-Fri 0900-1500; 0900-1100 on the first and last Saturday of each month for Nairobi Banks. For special customers with special accounts, banking hours can run upto 1700 hr. Most banks upcountry are open on Saturdays. Many of the banks and bureaux de change at the international airports open 24 hours a day